I Recognize That Tree


Lorelai: Well, I can’t take it back to Yale.
Luke: I’m not storing your microbe mattress, forget it.
Lorelai: Well, then I’m stuck here.
Luke: Fine, because I need my truck back.
Lorelai: Fine, but that leaves you with the mattress.
Luke: I’m not taking the mattress.
Lorelai: Then let me take the truck.
Luke: But that means you take the mattress.
Lorelai: I can’t take the mattress.
Luke: Then you can’t have the truck.
Lorelai: But that sticks you with the mattress.
Luke: If you take the truck, it comes with the mattress.
Lorelai: I can’t take the mattress.
Luke: Then you can’t have the truck.
Lorelai: And that sticks you with the mattress.
Luke: We’ve been here before.
Lorelai: I recognize that tree.

Gilmore Girls, Season 4, Episode 2: “The Lorelais’ First Day At Yale”

Ladies and gentlemen, I’m moving.

Yes, again, and back to Virginia.

I’ve already bought my train ticket. I’ve been searching for jobs. I might have a place to live. I have the next ten days planned out, but the last week of August looks frightfully empty.

Livin’ on the edge there, Rory Gilmore. At least I’ve got the next 10 days planned.

Thankfully, I was subletting here in New York, so I do not have a mattress (or  any furniture) to wreak havoc in my life. However, I did decide to ship a suitcase to Virginia instead of taking two with me on the train. My reasoning was that taking two suitcases would be difficult and awkward. I already experienced that when I arrived in New York with two stuffed suitcases, so why would I want to do it again? Solution – ship it.

But to ship the suitcase I had to take it to FedEx.

On the subway.

Me + Suitcase x Turnstile = Epically Awkward Emily

Change of plans: I’ll eat cheap for the next few days and take a taxi to the train station.

I’m rather stressed, as you might imagine. And confused. Frustrated. Scared.

 

To calm myself, I’ve been counting my blessings.

It would be so easy to write these last three months as a failed experiment, but I just can’t see it like that. I’ve been blessed far too much to think like that. I might not have been financially successful, but that’s not important to me.

What is important is that I believe God knows what He’s doing. It’s frustrating having to wait and to trust, I can’t lie about that. I’ve made my feelings quite clear to God on that, and He’s made his position quite clear to me, and I know He’s right.

There are a lot of really cool things going on in my life right now, especially with my writing. I’ll share more with you in the coming months, but I’m excited.

But I need a day job.

 

 

GIFs, picture, and quote are not mine.

6 thoughts on “I Recognize That Tree

  1. All experiences in life are good (providing they are not bad), and just a part of gaining knowledge to build upon the future. Looking forward to seeing you in VA.

  2. It’s tough for us, not knowing what God has in mind. No doubt your time has been well-spent, and how it was well-spent will become clear to you. Blessings on your travels!

Leave a comment