Ruins


All I wanted was to be accepted

by you, but you only tear me down. You

left me a hollow shell, precarious

rotten beams and crumbling bricks.

All I wanted was your friendship, but you

defaced me, shamed me, made me ugly with

your cruel words, your gloating words, your lame words.

You tattooed me with your disdain.

All I ever wanted was to be loved

by you, but you never wanted me. You

hated me, tormented me, ransacked me

of my dignity. You destroyed who I

was supposed to be. It’s not enough that

you’ve had me condemned; now I am destroyed,

and the weeds choke me from running away.

[March 7, 2010]

Leave a Reply

