Day 5 – Book You Wish You Could Live In


30 Day Book Challenge: Book You Wish You Could Live In

The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader, C.S. Lewis

“’But look here,’ said Eustace, ‘this is all rot. The world’s round–I mean, round like a ball, not like a table.’

“’Our world is,’ said Edmund. ‘But is this?’

“’Do you mean to say,’ asked Caspian, ‘that you three come from a round world (round like a ball) and you’ve never told me! It’s really too bad of you. Because we have fairy-tales in which there are round worlds and I always loved them. I never believed there were any real ones. But I’ve always wished there were and I’ve always longed to live in one. Oh, I’d give anything–I wonder why you can get into our world and we never get into yours? If only I had the chance! It might be exciting to live on a thing like a ball. Have you ever been to the parts where people walk about upside-down?’

Edmund shookhis head. ‘And it isn’t like that,’ he added. ‘There’s nothing particularly exciting about a round world when you’re there.‘”

One thought on “Day 5 – Book You Wish You Could Live In

  1. Ha! Great little quote — it has been long enough that I don’t remember it from the book, but that just means the books will feel all the more new when I reread them.

Leave a Reply

