Day 13 – Book Whose Main Character Is Most Like You


30 Day Book Challenge: Book Whose Main Character Is Most Like You

Northanger Abbey, Jane Austen

Character: Catherine Morland

“‘Catherine grows quite a good-looking girl, — she is almost pretty today,’ were words which caught her ears now and then; and how welcome were the sounds! To look almost pretty, is an acquisition of higher delight to a girl who has been looking plain the first fifteen years of her life, than a beauty from the cradle can ever receive.”

Forget Pride and Prejudice. When I picked up Northanger Abbey for the first time, I realized that Jane Austen must have been dreaming about me when she wrote it.

Catherine Morland is my homegirl.

Up Next: Day 14 – Book Whose Character You Most Want To Marry

2 thoughts on “Day 13 – Book Whose Main Character Is Most Like You

  1. Okay, so I realize I am probably way behind the times here – oh wait, I just checked, and I’m only commenting one month late. First of all, I have gone through and read most – if not all – your blogs up until this point. Well, probably just most. You are a fantastic writer, and I am spellbound in what you write. Second, most of your entries, I’ve wanted to comment, but I have held myself back from “blog stalking” you. However, I couldn’t resist the temptation any longer because….I love Northanger Abbey; I relate to Catherine Morland more than any of Jane Austen’s other characters. I read Pride & Prejudice first, and while it will always be one of my all time favorite books, it’s quite possible that Northanger Abbey is one spot above it. That’s all I had to say…I will now continue to read the rest of your posts.

    • Andrea! Hello. Please, feel free to blog stalk me all you want! 🙂

      Okay, one, you made me incredibly excited to know you’ve actually read my blog. Two, I’m giddy that you are “spellbound.” That is probably the best compliment I’ve ever had, so thank you very much!

      I feel the same way about Catherine and NA. I had never thought to read the book because it wasn’t P&P, and then I did and I couldn’t believe how great it was.

Leave a Reply

