Day 14 – Fictional Husband


30 Day Book Challenge: Book Whose Character You Most Want To Marry

Henry Tilney from Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen

Darcy who? Henry Tilney is sarcastic, clever, silly, loyal, handsome, and well-read. Let me say that again: WELL-READ. The man READS! And he’s a minister, which is kinda cool because he doesn’t act all boring and pretentious like the other ministers in Austen’s novels.

“Now I must give one smirk, and then we may be rational again.”

The problem is that there’s also Gilbert Blythe from the Anne of Green Gables series by Lucy Maud Montgomery.

“It was the first time Gilbert had said ‘my wife’ to anybody but Anne, and he narrowly escaped bursting with the pride of it.”

And John Thornton from North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell.

“You look as if you thought it tainted you to be loved by me. You cannot avoid it. Nay, I, if I would, cannot cleanse you from it. But I would not, if I could. I have never loved any woman before: my life has been too busy, my thoughts too much absorbed with other things. Now I love, and will love. But do not be afraid of too much expression on my part.”

And Almanzo Wilder from The Little House On The Prairie books, and Laurie from Little Women.

Oh dear.

Up Next: Day 15 – First Chapter Book You Can Remember Reading As A Child

2 thoughts on “Day 14 – Fictional Husband

  1. Pingback: Week One – Book Crush « WanderLust

Leave a Reply

