Day 16 – Longest Book You’ve Read


30 Day Book Challenge: Longest Book You’ve Read

Paradise Lost, John Milton

“…do they only stand

By ignorance, is that their happy state,

The proof of their obedience and their faith?”

I’m sure I’ve read other books that are longer than Paradise Lost – like Crime and Punishment and Anna Karenina – but I’m quite proud of the fact that I not only read Paradise Lost, but I also understood it and enjoyed it.

Kudos to the best class I ever had at Evangel University.

Up Next: Day 17 – Shortest Book You’ve Read

2 thoughts on “Day 16 – Longest Book You’ve Read

  1. Congratulations! Even I didn’t quite finish Paradise Lost, although that didn’t stop me from making bold comparisons and contrasts with Lewis’ Perelandra to impress my professor and hide from her the fact of my incomplete reading. I think it mostly worked, since she was a devout Lewisian. Someday, however, I shall have to return and complete Milton’s epic.

    If you’re interested, my friends at the Egotist’s Club have an interesting post on Paradise Lost, although expressing a somewhat different opinion than your own.

Leave a Reply

