Day 25 – Favorite Book Read In School


30 Day Book Challenge: Favorite Book Read In School

The Hobbit, JRR Tolkien

For this post, I was going to share Tess of the D’Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy because I think it’s pretty darn fantastic, although – like most Hardy books – it’s incredibly depressing. (Most – I really need to read Under The Greenwood Tree.)

However, if I’m going to be honest with you, I have to say that of all the books I was forced to read in high school, my favorite is definitely The Hobbit by JRR Tolkien.

Okay, during my sophomore year, The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring came out, and someone at my school got the bright idea that we should read The Hobbit. I’m sure the words “relevant” and “cool” were part of that conversation.

I feel like we spent MONTHS studying The Hobbit. We studied The Hobbit like it was the most important book we’d ever read.

I actually really enjoyed our classes, but it took forever.

And to make matters worse, we annoyed our teacher because while we were an extremely inquisitive class, we kept asking questions about LOTR. Eventually, our teacher gave a speech about how we were reading The Hobbit not Rings, and that when we walked through the classroom door, we were to forget that Tolkien ever wrote anything other than The Hobbit.

Easier said than done.

Golly, we were such nerds.

The cast of Peter Jackson's The Hobbit

The fact that Peter Jackson is making The Hobbit into a film had no influence whatsoever on this post. None. At. All. Nope. Nah-uh. Okay, maybe a little. Oooh! Martin Freeman!

Up Next: Favorite Nonfiction Book

One thought on “Day 25 – Favorite Book Read In School

  1. Great choice! This is probably my favorite book read in school as well, although I never was so fortunate as to actually study it with a class. I remember eagerly choosing it for a book report back in elementary school. It’s awesome that you spent months on it — I can’t imagine any of my classes in high school or college spending months on a single book. Still, there is so much Tolkien does in his novels that is very worth studying, I wish more people would do it.

    I’m also doing a Book Challenge/Meme this month, along with my friends at the Egotist’s Club blog, although it seems to be a different list than yours. I look forward to perusing your other choices!

Leave a Reply

