Day 31 – Beginnings


30 Day Book Challenge + 1: Beginnings

Top 3 Favorite Beginnings

1. The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader, C.S. Lewis

“There was once a boy named Eustace Clarence Scrubb, and he almost deserved it.”

2. The Hobbit, J.R.R. Tolkien

“In a hole in the ground there lived a hobbit. Not a nasty, dirty, wet hole, filled with the ends of worms and an oozy smell, nor yet a dry, bare, sandy hole with with nothing in it to sit down on or to eat: it was a hobbit hole, and that means comfort.”

3. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, Mark Twain

“You don’t know about me without you have read a book by the name of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer; but that ain’t no matter. That book was made by Mr. Mark Twain, and he told the truth, mainly. There was things which he stretched, but mainly he told the truth.”

2 thoughts on “Day 31 – Beginnings

  1. I mostly want to say what a great topic this is. I may have to answer it myself sometime. The beginning of a story can be so important…

    • At a Christian writers’ conference, I heard an author – unfortunately I can’t remember the name – give a lecture on the value of an opening sentence. That always stuck with me.

      There are more, but unfortunately I do not have those books with me at the moment, so I limited the post to three. The Lovely Bones has a great and memorable opening line, in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

