The Good Life


By seeing London, I have seen as much of life as the world can show. [Samuel Johnson]

Well, I’ve survived 6 days in London, and I’ve taught my first class. I plan on keeping you all posted through this blog with what I’m up to, but that will have to wait for the moment as it’s after 11 p.m. here, and I have a busy day in the morning.

I do, however, want to get you in the spirit of things, so here’s a teaser:

Emily’s Top 5 London(ish) Songs
5. London Calling – The Clash

Because it just needs to be acknowledged. I mean, it doesn’t seem right to omit it.

4. Violet Hill – Coldplay

I took my love down to Violet Hill,
There we sat in snow.
All that time she was silent still.
So if you love me,
Won’t you let me know?

I personally believe Coldplay to be one of the best bands ever formed.

3. London Skies – Jamie Cullum

Nothing is certain except everything you know can change;
You worship the sun but now,
Can you fall for the rain?
Will you let me romanticize,
The beauty in our London Skies?
You know the sunlight always shines,
Behind the clouds of London Skies.

A beautiful tribute.

2. Cemeteries of London – Coldplay

God is in the houses
And God is in my head,
And all the cemeteries in London.
I see God come in my garden,
But I don’t know what he said,
For my heart, it wasn’t open,
Not open.
Singing la lalalala la le,
and the night over London rang.
Singing la lalalala la le,
There’s no light over London today.

Haunting and gorgeous.

1. Good Life – OneRepublic

My current theme song.

[Music Video]

Woke up in London yesterday
Found myself in the city near Piccadilly-
Don’t really know how I got here-
I got some pictures on my phone.

New names and numbers that I don’t know-
Address to places like Abbey Road-
Day turns to night, night turns to whatever we want,
We’re young enough to say:

Oh this has gotta be the good life-
This has gotta be the good life-
This could really be a good life, good life.

Say oh, got this feeling that you can’t fight-
Like this city is on fire tonight-
This could really be a good life-
A good, good life.

To my friends in New York, I say hello.
My friends in L.A. they don’t know
Where I’ve been for the past few years or so-
Paris to China to Col-or-ado.

Sometimes there’s airplanes I can’t jump out.
Sometimes there’s bull—- that don’t work now.
We are god of stories, but please tell me
What there is to complain about.

When you’re happy like a fool,
Let it take you over.
When everything is out,
You gotta take it in.

Oh this has gotta be the good life-
This has gotta be the good life-
This could really be a good life, good life.

Say oh, got this feeling that you can’t fight-
Like this city is on fire tonight-
This could really be a good life-
A good, good life.

Hopelessly-
I feel like there might be something that I’ll miss.
Hopelessly-
I feel like the window closes oh so quick.
Hopelessly-
I’m taking a mental picture of you now
‘Cuz hopelessly
The hope is we have so much to feel good about.

Oh this has gotta be the good life-
This has gotta be the good life-
This could really be a good life, good life-

Say oh, got this feeling that you can’t fight-
Like this city is on fire tonight-
This could really be a good life-
A good, good life.

To my friends in New York, I say hello.
My friends in L.A. they don’t know
Where I’ve been for the past few years or so-
Paris to China to Col-or-ado.

Sometimes there’s airplanes I can’t jump out.
Sometimes there’s bull—- that don’t work now.
We are god of stories, but please tell me
What there is to complain about.

Leave a Reply

