You have quite a way with words.


When people ask me to describe “my type” of man, I don’t usually know what to say. Should I explain that I like New York firefighters, but I have a weakness for British gingers? Truth be told, I only have three requirements: 1) he must read, 2) he must travel, and 3) he must understand language.

You’d be surprised at how difficult it is to find such a man.

“Is there a telephone at the house of Billy’s cousin?”
“You sound like a poor translation out of the French, Russell. But yes, there is a telephone at the house of the cousin of my friend. Utilize chez, feminine singular, masculine singular.”
“And to his wife the unwashed tramp will telephone, is that not so?”
“But yes, with regularity the tramp his wife in the boarding house will telephone.”
“Merci, monsieur.”
“De rien, madame.”

          A Letter of Mary: A Novel of Suspense Featuring Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes, written by Laurie R. King

Am I the only one who finds this dialogue delightful? Ah, language.

“Those who know nothing of foreign languages know nothing of their own.” (Goethe)

4 thoughts on “You have quite a way with words.

  1. This has always been one of my favourite quotes – I love the whimsy, and the wordplay! Thank you for posting it somewhere that google could find. 🙂

Leave a Reply

