Join Team Emily


I’ve wanted to be a great many things since I was a small child. I wanted to be a singer, an actress, an astronaut, a scientist, Indiana Jones, and Princess Leia. However, when each of those dreams eventually gave up the ghost for various reasons, I discovered that there was one constant love in my life:

Writing.

I’ve mentioned on this blog before that before I’m thirty, I want to write a novel and publish it. At least one novel, just something that could have my name on it, and that I could look at and say, “You see this? I created this.”

When I quit my job at AIS last academic year, one goal that I gave myself was to start my novel. Not finish it, but at least start it. Now, here I am many moons later, and while I have been writing, I’ve realized that writing a novel can’t happen if I don’t have perseverance.

I’ve got a lot of stories, I know, but I tend to get bored halfway through the third page. Or I think, No one will ever read this! It’s far too melodramatic or cheesy or just plain stupid.

Or I watch I go to the movies and watch as someone else tells the story that I thought was my own original idea, and I think, Well, you can’t write that one now. Someone’s already gone and done it.

I’m the type of person who needs deadlines. I work much better when there is someone or something to put pressure on me.

Today, I discovered something very cool: November is National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo). The purpose of NaNoWriMo is for writers to sit down and type out a 50,000-word novel during the month of November.

It’s a very wonderful idea, and its designed to help people to just write:

Because of the limited writing window, the ONLY thing that matters in NaNoWriMo is output. It’s all about quantity, not quality. This approach forces you to lower your expectations, take risks, and write on the fly.
Make no mistake: You will be writing a lot of crap. And that’s a good thing. By forcing yourself to write so intensely, you are giving yourself permission to make mistakes. To forgo the endless tweaking and editing and just create. To build without tearing down. [Source]

Now, here’s where you come in: I want to participate in this, but I need cheerleaders. I have no idea what I’m going to write – to be honest, it could be quite appalling – but I want someone to keep me accountable.

Thus, I’ve created a blog for this project. Emily Writes a Novel will feature daily posts by me – aren’t I ambitious? – of my rough draft.

FYI: In order to write 50,000 words in 30 days, I have to write 1,666.67 words a day. Some days, that will be too little. Other days, I’ll be barely able to write a sentence.

I want you to tear it apart. Leave no stone unturned. Rip it to shreds and critique it until I find myself sobbing in a dark corner.

Okay, I don’t really, but you get my point. I want people to read this who are interested in helping me fulfill this dream.

I don’t care who you are, a literature professor or the short order cook, I just want someone in my corner.

All posts will be password protected. This is because – obviously – I’d rather no one steal my ideas and make them better. If you would like to participate, I’d ask that you message me either through Facebook or Twitter, and I will provide you with the password that you need.

(If you have it, you can also message me at my personal email account. I’d just rather not give out that information here.)

I would also like to add that if you’re interested in doing this, too, I’d love to help you as well. Whether you keep yours on a blog or just in a composition book, I would love to read it and offer critiques, advice, and encouragement.

My new blog for this project can be found here.

If you would like more information about NaNoWriMo, check out the website here.

Also, I’ll be trying to stretch my writing muscles by writing daily from now until November 1. I’m not sure if I’ll post here every day, but you can count on seeing new entries here these next few weeks.

If you have any questions or suggestions, please leave a comment. Also, if you’re interested in doing this as well, let me know!

Leave a Reply

