NaNoWriMo – Day 3


Day 3 – Pick one of your female characters. Introduce your readers to her, from her point of view and her words only.

    My name is Minnie Mehn, and I live in Aberdeen, Virginia. My father is the librarian of the Carnegie Library that opened here in Aberdeen almost a year ago. After school, I help my father. I shelve the books.

    I would like to go to college one day, but it will depend on whether I can afford it. My mother does not think that I should.

    I don’t have many friends other than Catherine Quinn. I met her a few days after she moved here in July. She’s really nice; I didn’t even realize she was one of those Quinns until Nellie Clifton said something at school that one day. Nellie apologized, don’t worry. I like Nellie, too, but she isn’t always considerate of other people’s feelings.

    Catherine and I sit together at school. We tell each other everything. I’ve never had a friend quite like her before. I’m worried because she told me a secret a few days ago, and I’m scared she could get hurt.

    I don’t know what I’d do without Catherine. She’s so brave, and being her friend has made me brave, too. At least, braver than I used to be.

I have three female characters that I want to focus on – Catherine, Nellie, and Minnie. So far, I think Catherine is the most developed as she’s in the spotlight at the moment, but I want her actions to affect Nellie and Minnie in a way that can be further explored.

I like Catherine, but I also feel limited by her. Only three days in, and I’m already complaining about my characters. Not good.

Oh, and today I discovered that Water for Elephants was written during NaNoWriMo.

One thought on “NaNoWriMo – Day 3

Leave a Reply

