NaNoWriMo – Day 13


Day 13 – Name a male character from your novel. Describe him through the point of view and words of the female character you introduced in question 3 (if they never interact, pick another female character).

Minnie discusses Bailey Allen (two characters that I had no intention of focusing on but who sort of ran away with my story. I think I like them more than the protagonists. That’s not good…)

    You want me to tell you about who? Why are you asking me? Surely Charlie or Catherine would be a better person to –

    All right. Uh, well, the first time we met was Bailey’s first day in Aberdeen. This would have been, oh, two years ago? I saw him at the post office. My father was taking a correspondence course, and he had asked me to post his work for him.

    Anyway, I was just leaving, and he was coming in, and he held open the door for me and said, “Hello.” I remember he had the bluest eyes I had ever seen.

    I know, I know. It’s silly, isn’t it? I guess I can’t really count that as a “meeting,” but it was sometime before we ever properly met. By then, Catherine and Charlie had gotten married, and – well, you see, Bailey got arrested, too. It was just for one night, and in the end I think he only had to pay thirty dollars. It could have been a lot worse, and it was my fault.

    Bailey would say it wasn’t my fault, but then he’s too nice to me.

    Anyway, we became friends. He was very encouraging when I told him that I wanted to go to the girls’ college. In fact, he offered to help me study, but we spent most of our time talking.

    He’s going to law school now, you know. Yes, he is. I helped him study and now he’s passed all of his exams. I’m really proud of him. He feels guilty about what happened to Charlie, although I keep telling him it wasn’t his fault.

    What? No, Bailey is not my beau. Don’t be silly. Why not? Well, because – look, I don’t need a beau. My mother keeps nagging me to find a husband, but I’ve decided I just don’t want one right now. I’m only 18. I’m in college, and I’m working towards a teaching certificate, and I want to have the chance to use it. I can’t if I get married.

    No, Bailey is not my beau. That’s just – we’re not like that, okay?

Leave a Reply

