NaNoWriMo – Day 25


Day 25 – What are the names of at least two of your main characters? How did you choose their names?

Charlie Allen and Catherine Quinn

These are the two characters based on my great-great grandparents.

Charlie Allen – I paid homage to my family with this one: my great-great grandfather’s name was Charlie Johnson, and my great-great grandmother’s name was Ruth Allen.

My great-great grandparents

Catherine Quinn – I asked some people to give me a list of names for a girl in 1914, and I kind of just started using “Catherine” without much thought to it other than thinking if I really hated it, I could change it later.

As for “Quinn,” I’ll confess: I was watching Castle when I started working on this, and as the opening credits were rolling, I saw Molly Quinn’s name on the screen and thought, “Quinn. I like that.”

Molly Quinn as Alexis Castle in Castle

Leave a Reply

