The Novel: Yet Another Update


I think I’ve spent the last week living in my novel. Thankfully, all the characters have been willing to play along, so it hasn’t been too maddening.

I’m still struggling with the ending, so I decided to give myself and break and concentrate on what I already have. I’ve been editing and rewriting and rearranging and killing characters off or altering their roles.

I like visual aids, so here’s the development of my novel in pictures.

My NaNoWriMo draft.

And this is my second draft with my notes. This is page one.

And page two.

Sometimes I need more space.

Or an extra sheet. Maybe two. Or even five.

So this is what I’ve been doing during the day, and at night, I’ve been typing it all up… and making more edits.

I’ve gone through three pens already. I know you’re probably all wondering why I’m handwriting my notes. The truth is I can’t stand writing on the computer. It’s more tangible to handwrite and keeps me focused.

And this is also why I will always prefer books to e-readers.

In other news, I’ve discovered that Taylor Swift has written a song that’s a rather peppy version of my story. Very, very peppy. Oh, Taylor, you’re adorable.

You made a rebel of a careless man’s careful daughter.
You are the best thing that’s ever been mine.

2 thoughts on “The Novel: Yet Another Update

  1. I have had to handwrite at least half of my first draft(s) of every novel I have written so far (three, if I finish the one I’m working on now). I understand completely how you feel about it being more tangible and easier to focus on. Keep going! You can do it! ❤

Leave a Reply

