The Liebster Award


So about a week ago, I was informed by Danielle of the blog Apparently A Writer that she was nominating me for the Liebster Award. My initial reaction to that was,

What the heck is the Liebster Award?

Well, thanks to snooping around her blog and to the great gods of Google, I discovered that the Liebster Award is a way of promoting blogs that have less than 200 followers. Once nominated, you are to nominate five other blogs that you feel are worthy of getting a larger audience.

And on and on it goes.

Hmm… There’s only one problem: I think I follow blogs that have too many followers to be eligible for this award. However, I’ve decided not to let that stop me.

So here you go, five pretty cool blogs you should check out:

1. Apparently A Writer

This Danielle chick is pretty cool. She has recently decided to become a writer, and her blog is about her journey as she writes her first novel. It’s nice getting to read about a fellow writer’s process. You should definitely check her out.

2. The Traveling Brisenos

I met Stephen – oh, it’s been a few years now – but I met Stephen in Kazakhstan. He went to a university in Texas that for some reason seems determined to stay in my life one way or another. He and his wife Kayla are currently teaching in China, and their blog is devoted to their adventures. It’s full of exceptional writing, pictures, and videos. If you want to know what it’s like to teach in an international high school, this is a good start.

3. The Egotist’s Club

High class literary thoughts by a group of classy bloggers. I love it.

4. The Warden’s Walk

This blog is one of my favorites because it’s so nerdtastic. (Is that a word? Because it should be. And David, I mean that as a compliment.) David reviews books, TV shows, films – whatever tickles his fancy. He’s big on the genres of fantasy and sci-fi, which I enjoy, too. Be prepared for references to Middle Earth and Gallifrey.

5. Mean Girls of Panem

Okay, so this is a tumblr blog, and I’m pretty sure the author’s got way too many followers, but I have checked this site (almost) every day since I discovered it a couple months ago, so I think it warrants two thumbs up.

Renee is a fan of Suzanne Collins’ The Hunger Games, and with the recent release of the film adaptation, she has created a very special blog.

This is what happens when you take the citizens of Panem and bring out their inner Regina George.

And now, for the rules:

1. Thank your Liebster Blog Award nominator on your blog.

(Ahem. That would be me. And you’re welcome.)

2. Link back to the blogger who nominated you.

(In case you missed it above, it’s this girl.)

3. Copy and paste the blog award onto your blog.

4. Present the Liebster Blog Award to five blogs of 200 followers or less who you feel deserve to be noticed.

5. Inform them of the award by leaving them a comment on their blog.

(Meh, I’m usually too lazy to write comments…)

Leave a Reply

