Stories of New York


Well, my first full day in New York has come and gone, and I can honestly say that I love this city. Yesterday my roommate J and I took the subway down to Central Park, one of my favorite places in all the world, and did a little exploring. Inspired by that excursion, we watched one of the most adorable films ever made, Little Manhattan.

While watching the movie, J and I both discussed how we wanted to go and find some of the places that Gabe and Rosemary visit in the film. A lot of the story takes place in Central Park, but the kids also go to Septuagesimo Uno, also known as “New York’s smallest park,” plus a few other cool places. Lucky for J and I, there’s a whole list of shooting locations for the film on the internet.

Which got me thinking, what other great New York movies are there? And can we “visit” them?

In honor of yesterday, our movie night, and our new lives in New York City, I give you,

Ten NYC Films Emily Really Likes

1. Miracle on 34th Street (1947)

Director: George Seaton
Writers: George Seaton (screenplay), Valentine Davies (story)
Stars: Maureen O’Hara, John Payne, Natalie Wood, Edmund Gwenn

Synopsis: An old man hired to play Santa Clause for Macy’s throws everyone for a loop when he announces that he truly is Santa Clause.

Favorite Scene: When the United States Postal Service exercises its authority to prove that Kris Kringle is the real Santa Clause during his trial.

“I believe… I believe… It’s silly, but I believe.” (Susan Walker)

2. Breakfast at Tiffany’s (1961)

Director: Blake Edwards
Writers: Truman Capote (Novella), George Axelrod (Screenplay)
Stars: Audrey Hepburn, George Peppard, Patricia Neil

Synopsis: Writer Paul Varjak’s neighbor Holly Golightly fascinates him.

Favorite Scene: The shoplifting scene, and the final scene, of course

-I’ll tell you one thing, Fred, darling, I’d marry you for your money in a minute. Would you marry me for my money?
-In a minute.
-I guess it’s pretty lucky neither of us is rich, huh?
(Holly & Paul)

3. When Harry Met Sally… (1989)

Director: Rob Reiner
Writer: Nora Ephron
Stars: Billy Crystal, Meg Ryan, Carrie Freaking Fisher, Bruno Kirby

Synopsis: Can a man and a woman be friends without sex ruining everything?

Favorite Scene: Way too many to pick—gosh, um… Spitting grapes, “Surrey with the Fringe on Top,” the wagon wheel coffee table, Pictionary, and Harry’s monologue at the end. Oh, and all the love stories told throughout the movie.

-There are two kinds of women: high maintenance and low maintenance.
-Which one am I?
-You’re the worst kind; you’re high maintenance but you think you’re low maintenance.
(Harry & Sally)

4. Home Alone 2: Lost In New York (1992)

Director: Chris Columbus
Writer: John Hughes
Stars: Macaulay Culkin, Joe Pesci, Daniel Stern, Catherine O’Hara

Synopsis: Kevin McCallister got on the wrong plane.

Favorite Scene: When Kevin reunites with his mom at Rockefeller Center

I’m traveling with my dad. He’s at a meeting. I hate meetings. Plus I’m not allowed to go in. I can only sit in the lobby. That’s boring. So he dropped me off here. He gave me his credit card and told me to give this to whoever was welcoming people in so I won’t get into mischief. And ma’am, sometimes I do get into mischief. We all do! (Kevin)

5. Newsies (1992)

Director: Kenny Ortega
Writers: Bob Tzudiker, Noni White
Stars: Christian Bale, Bill Pullman

Synopsis: A musical set in 1899 when the exploited newsboys of New York go on strike.

Favorite Scene: Any scene with Christian Bale.

– Extry, extry, read all about it! Ellis Island in flames!
– Hey, where’s that story?
– Page nine. Thousands Flee in Panic!
– “Trash Fire Next To Immigration Building Terrifies Seagulls”?
– Terrified Flight from Inferno!
(Jack & David)

6. You’ve Got Mail (1998)

Director: Nora Ephron
Writers: Miklós László (Play), Nora Ephron, Delia Ephron
Stars: Tom Hanks, Meg Ryan, Greg Kinnear

Synopsis: Kathleen and Joe meet on the internet and discover they are the perfect match for each other, but in real life they are business rivals.

Favorite Scene: Kathleen and Joe decide to meet, but when Joe realizes who she is, he is unable to tell her the truth and instead sits with her to “wait” for her date.

The whole purpose of places like Starbucks is for people with no decision-making ability whatsoever to make six decisions just to buy one cup of coffee. Short, tall, light, dark, caf, decaf, low-fat, non-fat, etc. So people who don’t know what the hell they’re doing or who on earth they are can, for only $2.95, get not just a cup of coffee but an absolutely defining sense of self: Tall. Decaf. Cappuccino. (Joe)

7. Hitch (2005)

Director: Andy Tennant
Writer: Kevin Bisch
Stars: Will Smith, Eva Mendes, Kevin James

Synopsis: Hitch, “The Date Doctor,” makes his living helping other men get the women of their dreams, but when he meets Sara, he finds himself to be just like all the awkward and insecure men he’s helped over the years.

Favorite Scene: When Hitch teaches Albert to dance.

Begin each day as if it were on purpose. (Hitch)

8. Little Manhattan (2005)

Director: Mark Levin
Writer: Jennifer Flackett
Stars: Josh Hutcherson, Charlie Ray, Cynthia Nixon, and Bradley Whitford

Synopsis: Ten (and three-quarters) year-old Gabe’s parents are going through a divorce when he falls in love with eleven-year-old Rosemary Telesco from his karate class. But when she announces she’s going away for summer camp, Gabe is heartbroken.

Favorite Scene: Gabe’s reaction to his breakup with Rosemary— it’s sad and hysterical.

Okay, what’s going on here? What the heck is this? Oh my God. What’s this feeling in the pit of my stomach? Who is this – this amazing creature before me? I looked at Rosemary and just felt so, um, confused. She’s a girl. I’m supposed to despise girls, not feel nervous talking to one, not feel tongue-tied. I mean this was Rosemary Telesco, I knew her since Kindergarten! (Gabe)

9. Rent (2005)

Director: Chris Columbus
Writers: Stephen Chbosky (screenplay), Jonathon Larson (book)
Stars: Taye Diggs, Wilson Jermaine Heredia, Rosario Dawson, Jesse L. Martin, Adam Pascal, Idina Menzel, Tracie Thoms, Anthony Rapp

Synopsis: A musical about a group of Bohemians struggling with the impact of AIDS on themselves and their friends.

Favorite Scene: “La Vie Boheme”

Give into love or live in fear. (Mimi)

10. Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close (2011)

Director: Stephen Daldry
Writers: Jonathon Safran Foer (book), Eric Roth (screenplay)
Stars: Thomas Horn, Tom Hanks, Sandra Bullock, Max von Sydow

Synopsis: Struggling to make sense of 9/11 and the loss of his father, Oskar discovers a key in his father’s belongings and sets out to discover the lock it goes to.

Favorite Scene: All the scenes with Oskar and The Renter.

But it wasn’t working because people aren’t like numbers. They’re more like letters, and those letters want to become stories, and Dad said that stories need to be shared. (Oskar)

What are some others that should be on this list?

3 thoughts on “Stories of New York

    • Brianna, that sounds beautiful. I actually had a discussion today with an employee at Trader Joe’s about Breakfast at Tiffany’s. I was wearing a shirt with Holly Golightly on it. 🙂

      Brooklyn Bridge Park-I’m going to have to to make it there some day. Looks wonderful!

      As for that link, holy cow, that would be awesome. Sadly, I don’t think I meet the requirements, but I’m definitely interested in shopping there.

  1. Pingback: The Perfect Manhattan Day « WanderLust

Leave a Reply

