Week Nine – Honeymoon Books


Dear Cecelia, the story can resume.

Week 9: Book(s) that you would bring on your honeymoon. (ie; so intrinsic to your life that it MUST be shared with your life partner as soon as possible. Or just fun to read together.)

You know, when I first posted about this meme way back when, my sister read through the prompts and said, “Good luck finding a man who wants to read on the honeymoon.”

Yeah. About that – I’m not going to waste time on my honeymoon reading. Or writing.

Having said that, the rest of this prompt asks about books “so intrinsic to your life that it must be shared.” For some reason, I find this difficult. Do I really have books that I feel this strongly about? Do I really?

I would expect the man I marry to have a working knowledge of C.S. Lewis and either an interest or a respect for fantasy literature, fairy tales, and myths, as those are my favorite stories and books to read. He would also have to be acquainted with JK Rowling as she is one of my inspirations in becoming a writer. Plus, any children we might have will be raised on her Harry Potter series. That’s just non-negotiable.

There are a few other books that I would like him to have read just because they are special to me. Birds Without Wings would be one for sure. Atonement, too. (Oh goodness, why do I only like tragic romances? This feels ominous.)

Peeta and Katniss are gettin’ hitched.

If this husband shows up in the next two-five years, it would be in his best interest to give in and read The Hunger Games trilogy. I mean, I’ll be going to see all the movies, and he can come with me or stay at home, his choice. It would just be nice for him to understand why I’ll be returning from the theatre a weepy mess and in desperate need of a hug and a kiss. And baked goods.

Hopefully said husband will also be someone with enough literary smarts that we can intelligently discuss (and trash) Suzanne Collins’ writing style, as well as lament the sad fact that Young Adult writers do not know how to write complete sentences. (It’s a serious problem, ya’ll.)

(Shoot, just read every book I’ve written about on this blog. That’s not too much to ask, is it?)

The only real deal-breaker would be the Bible.

I would never be able to marry someone who had not read the Bible and did not hold it in the highest regard as I do. In fact, the only book that I would bring with me on my honeymoon would be my Bible.

The Bible is truly the most fascinating book ever written, for it is a book that details what it means to have a relationship with God. It is a book at which the heart and soul of it is love and relationships. It’s the source of the deepest encouragement and instruction I have ever found. I would love to read it with my husband. The Bible is meant to be shared and discussed, and I would want to hear his perspective and understanding of it.

And call me a romantic, but it would be nice to be able to read Song of Solomon and understand from experience that depth of love for someone else.

This is my beloved and this is my friend,
O daughters of Jerusalem…

I am my beloved’s and my beloved is mine…

I am my beloved’s,
And his desire is for me…

Put me like a seal over your heart,
Like a seal on your arm.
For love is as strong as death…

Many waters cannot quench love,
Nor will rivers overflow it…

Song of Solomon

5 thoughts on “Week Nine – Honeymoon Books

  1. “The only real deal-breaker would be the Bible.” I hear ya, sister. I know a lot of people who don’t understand this, and for a long time I didn’t understand it either. I was a Christian long before I learned to love the Bible, but the moment that shifted in me (through an act of God, of course) I knew there was no going back. It’s a living thing to me, now, as no other book has ever or will ever be (though there are some that have some semblance of life, like Galatea half-transformed.”

  2. Aye, I’m agreed, of course. And while I don’t expect my eventual honeymoon to involve too much reading beyond the Bible, I wouldn’t be too surprised if we did end up reading to each other from our favorite passages and poems, seeing as she’ll likely be a bibliophile too. Not much, perhaps, but some might be nice. I think it’s reasonable to assume that she would already be quite familiar with Lewis and Tolkien well before she met me, or at least by the time we were married. Ditto for my other most favorite books.

Leave a Reply

