“Remember yesterday’s date, since it was a red-letter day for me.”


Ten points to Gryffindor if you know where I stole my title from. 

Ladies and gentlemen, I am officially a professional writer.

(I can’t take any credit for this gif, but I do dance like that in the privacy of my bedroom.)

How, might you ask?

To put it simply, I wrote 491 words that someone liked enough to buy for their website. I didn’t make much off of it, but there is money in my account right now.

And they want me to write more.

Glory, glory, hallelujah!

Take that, insecurity.

(Again, not mine, but the sentiment is.)

(If I truly was Jo March, this would be the moment when someone would announce they had scarlet fever. Please don’t.)

42 thoughts on ““Remember yesterday’s date, since it was a red-letter day for me.”

      • I would probably be stuck in Gryffindor because of my insane amount of loyalty, but I don’t have to like it. My heart belongs to Slytherin, just because they get the short end of the literary stick. πŸ˜‰

      • Actually, if anyone gets the short end of the stick, it’s Hufflepuff. πŸ˜‰ I mean… all I know about Hufflepuffs is that their common room is near the kitchens, and Cedric Diggory was a Hufflepuff before he became a sparkly vampire. Oh, and that Hufflepuffs are particularly good finders. πŸ™‚

        I signed up for Pottermore and was sorted into Ravenclaw, so I guess it’s official.

    • It hasn’t been published yet, but it was for a website on New York City. I was asked to write about fun things to do in the city that were cheap or free. I’ll add a link later on once it’s available.

      And thank you.

  1. Compared to Gryffindor, all the houses get the short sticks, and Hufflepuff is pretty low in the running until, as you say, they get Cedric and suddenly more respect. Slytherin, on the other hand, just gets wailed on from beginning to end. The three other houses prefer eachother to Slytherin, both in and out of school only Slytherins like Slytherins, and even by the end, when we see more depth in all of the houses, the Slytherins are painted as either traitors or cowards. The best thing they have going for them is Snape, and as much as I love Snape, he’s a pretty raw deal for a “best” list. πŸ˜‰

    I think Rowling is an excellent writer. I’ve just always had a “thing” about groups that are too homogeneously “bad” in books. When I was a kid, I was mad at Brian Jacques because the “vermin” were always evil. When I grew up a bit I was irritated with Tolkien for the orcs and goblins, and so on and so forth. …admittedly I have issues. πŸ˜›

    • This is true. As I read the books, I loved Slytherin because they were the bad guys, and I found them intriguing. It also helped that even though Malfoy was terrible, I also thought he was hot in that dangerous, bad boy way (Half-Blood Prince only made me love him more.) However, throughout the first six books, I only loved them because I hoped that they would somehow be redeemed. Snape was. Malfoy was saved but not redeemed. And I hated how at the very end when the students had to fight, the Slytherins abandoned them. Honestly, it didn’t seem consistent with Rowling’s way of creating multifaceted characters. So often the people in her stories had strong and real motivations for their actions, and a bad person could do good, and a good person could do bad, so the idea that ALL of Slytherin ran away from the battle disappointed me. Surely SOMEONE in that house would have felt convicted and have the guts to fight alongside the rest.

      (I guess one could argue that Malfoy, Crabbe, and Goyle did stay, but as they were still stupid enough to fight Harry, I don’t really count that.)

      In Tolkien’s defense, I can only say that by their very nature and creation, orcs and goblins are bad, but I get what you mean. πŸ˜‰

      Thank goodness Lewis didn’t do that in the Narnia books.

      • “And I hated how at the very end when the students had to fight, the Slytherins abandoned them.” Exactly. I could have handled all the rest if this had not happened. Throughout the series I was desperate to know that Slytherin was as multifaceted as the other houses, and at the crucial moment that hope was dashed and I felt cheated. Also it is disappointing that no surviving Slytherins were redeemed. From what I have read of Rowling’s interviews, she sees Slytherin in a more sympathetic light, but sadly that did not come through to me in the books. She obviously believes in complexity and defying expectations, but somehow her usually effective communication failed somewhere. Even Snape’s moral victory for Slytherin is somewhat belittled by Dumbledore telling him he should have been a Gryffindor… Ouch!

        Tolkien’s orcs and goblins make more sense than Slytherin or the Vermin simply because the ones who shaped them would not allow good ones to survive… if you have all the good continuously crushed out of your species, that creates an entirely different dynamic, becoming an in-story tragedy. Even so, though, I would have liked to see some isolated escaped orcs or goblins who were a little more natural in their behavior, you know what I mean?

        Yes, I am very pleased with Lewis for that.

      • Rowling was probably pressed for time and pages, but I think she could have snuck in a Slytherin somewhere. Goodness, she took the time to make Dudley a decent human being. Wouldn’t have been fascinating if someone like Crabbe had shown up fighting alongside Colin Creevy? Or if Pansy saved Hermione’s life? Just a sentence or two would have been fine. No need to dwell when there were clearly other things to focus on.

        Ugh. Dumbledore’s comment made me so sad. Plus, it’s not like the Slytherin traits are bad. They can be very good. And Gryffindors are so arrogant. That’s why I loved the Ravenclaws. They just didn’t care about the Gryffindor and Slytherin rivalry and did their own thing. I still wish the Hufflepuffs weren’t so underdeveloped. The fact that Cedric was a Hufflepuff still feels funny to me – how on earth is the Hogwarts champion a Hufflepuff? How?

    • Ah, yes, that’s another thing that made it hard for me to take the series very seriously. Hogwarts is a cool concept, but in practice it becomes an exercise in insanity. I could never understand why they would allow the House of Slytherin to be part of the school, when it was clearly only filled with malicious intent through and through. Since the traits of the houses supposedly reflect the traits of the founders (right?), why wasn’t the original Slytherin locked up in Azkaban, instead of being allowed to found the English-speaking wizarding worlds most prominent place of education for youths? And what sort of brain-sick parents would send their children to such a death trap of a school? I wouldn’t be surprised if more people died or got maimed at Hogwarts than in Azkaban!

      Not that my comments need answers here, I’m just jumping onto the little rant-thread you guys started. +)

      • Jump all you want, David.

        “Hogwarts is a cool concept, but in practice it becomes an exercise in insanity.”

        I read a very detailed blog/rant once… somewhere… that concluded that in the Harry Potter universe, wizards and witches are by far the most uneducated and ignorant people on the planet, as once they enroll at Hogwarts they apparently cease to study math, science, and literature. One could argue that with magic they do not need to understand much of science outside of Herbology and Potions, and that algebra, geometry, calculus and physics are tedious when one can just wave a wand; however, magic does not make people smart. Hermione and Harry have the one-up on Ron because they have one foot in the Muggle world. Ron might understand the wizarding world, but he looks like an idiot when confronted with Muggle technology.

        Disregarding the danger a Hogwarts student is constantly exposed to, in practice the education system of Hogwarts is faulty.

        “I could never understand why they would allow the House of Slytherin to be part of the school, when it was clearly only filled with malicious intent through and through. Since the traits of the houses supposedly reflect the traits of the founders (right?), why wasn’t the original Slytherin locked up in Azkaban”?

        Because, silly person, then there would be no story. πŸ™‚

        I think a little of it has to do with what I said about the Hogwarts approach to education – ignorance breeds fear and cruelty. Even Dumbledore was not immune to the same beliefs as Slytherin – that muggles should be ruled by the more powerful wizarding community. That prejudice against muggles and the arrogance that is seen so clearly in Slytherins and Voldemort are also found in the good wizards that make up the Order of the Phoenix. Voldemort is evil, yes, but not because he’s cruel to muggles, but because he threatens wizards and witches. It’s all about self-preservation, which, according to the Harry Potter wiki, is a Slytherin trait.

        All that to say, Slytherin wasn’t locked away in Azkaban and the Slytherin house was still included because on some level they were still considered acceptable. One could hate the Slytherins, even fight them to the death, but they were still wizards.

        “I wouldn’t be surprised if more people died or got maimed at Hogwarts than in Azkaban!”

        Tru dat, although I suppose there is a lot of confidence in the healing skills of wizards and witches. The Tri-Wizard Tournament is appalling. However, at Hogwarts, you’ll get maimed and/or killed. In Azkaban, you’ll be tormented into insanity and lose your soul.

      • I think Rowling has said something to the effect that she’s not going to write more books in the Harry Potter universe, but it would be neat if she did come back later to explore and critique these elements of the wizarding world in more sophistication. Assuming she also understands how insane her wizarding world is and seeks to address it, rather than just giving it light raps on the knuckles and then singing more of its praises. It’s a cool place, no doubt, but seems extremely unstable and disturbing on a foundational level.

      • I wish she would. Perhaps one day she will. I can only imagine how much money she would make from it.

        I think her books mature as the series progresses, but that’s more to do with the characters that arise than from the setting. Do you think Hogwarts would be better developed if the series hadn’t been so wildly popular and she could have take a little more time with it and without outside pressure?

      • I’ve no idea. I didn’t finish reading the books, so I’ve just got memories of the first three, plus the movies, plus what I’ve learned from the fandom and my friends/bloggers who have read them all to go on. It really depends on Rowling’s personality, and how she writes. It’s possible that the pressure to turn out books for a massive and ravenous fandom may have made her focus on characters to the exclusion of world-building. It’s equally possible that the same pressure caused her to take more care in crafting her saga than she might otherwise have. I don’t know. From what I hear, it sounds like she’s handled fame pretty well and remained in solid control of her intellectual property and her private life. *shrugs* But on the inside, who knows? Life and literature are full of “what ifs.”

      • Very true. I would reprimand you for not continuing with the series, but that would be hypocritical of me, so I won’t.

        She does seem to have handled her fame well. I’m curious as to what will happen with her new book. It sounds so different from Harry Potter. I hope that it’s good – it would be a shame to find out that all she can write is HP. I also hope that people won’t judge her too harshly because it’s not HP. You know what I mean? I think some authors are treated unfairly when they try to experiment and grow in their craft. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle hated Sherlock Holmes so much that he killed him off so that he could write something else, but his readers were so outraged he was talked into bringing the character back. And while I love them, they are not the best written stories. There are lots of continuity issues and plot holes, mostly because he was writing pop fiction and had to get the stories published ASAP.

        I think I just went off topic, and, Lord have mercy, I should stop and read Jubilare’s comment. Have you seen how much she wrote? πŸ˜‰

      • She has written a lot, hasn’t she? +) Good for her, I say!

        I think I will have to read the whole series eventually. Probably not soon, though; too much else on my list!

  2. And David jumps on the rant-train! Be careful, my friend, I must now rant at you! πŸ˜€
    This is my experience with Rowling in a nutshell. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone explodes on the scene. I am vaguely curious what all the fuss is about, but not enough to read it because I am an elitist little beast who has been disappointed by widely popular literature before.

    After most of the books are out, I give in and read #1. I enjoy it very much for its humor and entertainment value. I read the second book and am very disappointed. I read the third book and enjoy it. I read the fourth book, put it down at the end and swear I will read no more Harry Potter. This is because A. the books had started to seem formulaic to me and B. the end of Goblet of fire is far more disturbing than I had expected from the series. By that time, Rowling had frustrated me. I felt that she had fallen short of her own potential and her world and characters were entertaining, but relatively flat.

    Years pass. Finally, a friend who was trying to get me to finish the series lent me the books on cd. I was doing an internship at the time that involved long hours alone in a basement with uncatalogued federal documents. I listened to the series all the way through. By the end, I was astounded.

    I can criticize the books in a myriad of ways, from several different vantage points, but the truth is that finishing the series gave me a new perspective on them, and vastly increased my respect for Rowling. She started off as a pretty good writer and she evolved into a very good one. All writers and all books have their flaws, and in the end the difference between Tolkien and Jordan is that I can accept the former’s flaws for what I get from his writing, and I cannot accept the flaws of the latter.

    I can accept Rowling’s flaws. I enjoy seeing her overcome some of them and I enjoy seeing her surprise me. She does face some of the sociological problems of the world she created, stripping back layers of assumption to show more complexity than one might expect. I think she initially created the world just for fun and then it grew into something more and she realized where a lot of problems. Instead of taking the easy way out and glossing over the problems, she eventually turned and faced them, and I value that. Whatever else she is, she is thoughtful about her writing, and she cares whether or not it is good and whether or not it works. I would not class her with my all-time favorites, but I think she has, in a large part, earned her fame. She has certainly earned my respect as a writer and captured me with some of her books (especially the first and the last two).

    All this to say, in my opinion the series deserves a second chance and a complete reading. After all, I was all but determined not to like it, was very hard on it as I was reading/listening to it, and still came out with a fondness and respect for it. Even if you finish the series and find that it isn’t your cup of tea, you will at least know what it looks like whole. The films naturally pale in comparison to the books, and fan-tellings don’t do much justice either. If nothing else, as a writer, you can learn some wonderful “dos” and “don’ts” from the evolution of Rowling’s style.

    • It might be almost elevenses here in NYC, but it’s still too early to process your comment, Jubilare. πŸ˜‰ However, I like what I see. I will reply soon.

      I just need another cup of coffee first.

    • Okay. Time for a response. Plus, this gives me a great excuse not to take out the trash.

      Um… I think I’ll just respond to certain points you made.

      “I read the second book and am very disappointed.”

      I think I might be the only person in the entire world who loves Book 2. I like the movie, too. A lot. In fact, if I’m in the mood for a HP movie, I tend to find myself choosing between Chamber of Secrets and Order of the Phoenix.

      “This is because A. the books had started to seem formulaic to me and B. the end of Goblet of fire is far more disturbing than I had expected from the series.”

      I disliked Book 4 as well, but for different reasons. I was disappointed because I felt that Book 4 broke away from the formula, and while I do not care for formulaic books, in a series – especially a child’s series – they work. Book 4 bothered me because I was worried that Rowling was going to wreck her series by experimenting, and as a reader I did not approve. If it’s not broke, don’t fix it. And yes, the ending was very disturbing, although I hought it raised the stakes of the story.

      So at the end of Goblet of Fire, I was very worried because I could tell that this was no longer a sweet, innocent children’s story, and I didn’t know if I was going to like what was to come.

      “…her world and characters were entertaining, but relatively flat.”

      Agreed. The books – while good – were not spectacular.

      I started reading the books just before Book 4 was released, so I had the advantage (or disadvantage) of being drawn into the hype and fandom that the series generated. I was in high school when I started them, and I saw Movie #3 my senior year. When Book 5 came out, I was in college. I hated it. I found it so disturbing and dark. However, when I reread the series a few years later, I had a completely different reaction to it. It’s now one of my favorites.

      I think I hated it at first because I was appalled at Harry’s attitude, yet when I read it again (and when I saw the movie), I realized how each book reflected growth not just in Rowling but in Harry. The books got more mature as he got older, and given the issues in Harry’s life, as a character he needed to deal with everything in a way that was believable, and I think Book 5 succeeded in that. Plus, Harry did not remain the whiny emo child he was in that book, which I greatly appreciated.

      Book 5 also set up 6 & 7 very nicely. Before there was a mystery in understanding why Harry was alive, and when Voldemort would return, but book 5 managed to take that plot away from the Scooby Doo-feel of the first three books to a more epic level. Rowling also introduced more depth in her characters, especially in Dumbledore and Snape.

      Book 6 was slightly ruined for me when I overheard two teenage boys discussing the major character death that occurs at the end; however, I did not hear how the death occurred, so I was still blown away by it. Book 7 broke away from the formula completely, but I didn’t mind. I might have read it all the way through in under 12 hours, thanks to the fact that the day after the book was released I flew from the Virginia to Kazakhstan, a trip that takes two airplanes and very long layovers and usually lasts over 24 hours.

      I’m getting off topic again. Hang on…

      “She started off as a pretty good writer and she evolved into a very good one.”

      Yes.

      “I think she initially created the world just for fun and then it grew into something more and she realized where a lot of problems. Instead of taking the easy way out and glossing over the problems, she eventually turned and faced them, and I value that.”
      Yes, and she’s been – at times – open with how her personal life has influenced the books. That the death of her mother greatly affected her and in turn Harry (Harry’s mother and her death have a greater impact on the characters than Harry’s father. It is very clear that everyone who knew her loved her.) That the dementors were born out of the depression from which she suffered. That she views the major theme of the series to be about the struggle to accept death, which is one reason why I find the fable of the three brothers that Hermione reads in HP7 to be so moving (Voldemort tried to defeat death, but Harry faced it bravely).

      “I think she has, in a large part, earned her fame. She has certainly earned my respect as a writer and captured me with some of her books.”
      The reason why I do class her as one of my favorites has more to do with the fact that I view her as a role model more than anything else. Most of my favorite authors are dead, so getting to watch Rowling progress as a writer was fascinating. And you’re right, she does care about whether or not she’s writing well. There are so many popular books out there right now, especially for children and teens, that are HORRIBLE. They’re published with no concern for plot or even the English language. Twilight will be remembered because of the hype and fad it was, but I think Harry Potter will be remembered because there was something more to it than just popularity.
      At least, I hope Harry Potter will be remembered. I’d like to go back in time and stop Twilight from ever being written, but whatever.

      “The films naturally pale in comparison to the books, and fan-tellings don’t do much justice either.”
      True.
      (However, I do believe the best film was HP5.)

      “If nothing else, as a writer, you can learn some wonderful β€œdos” and β€œdon’ts” from the evolution of Rowling’s style.”
      High-five, girlfriend.

      • It’s fascinating to watch an author grow in the midst of a book or series. I felt that way reading Patricia McKillip’s Riddlemaster trilogy, which were her first published novels. The writing was very patchy in the first volume and a half, but I persevered because I liked the characters, the basic ideas, and because she was clearly trying really hard for a unique and poetic narrative voice. By the time I reached the third and final book, she’d managed to clean up her prose and focus it better, and the story began to really shine. Now she’s a truly excellent prose artist. (Remember, she wrote The Bell at Sealey Head) I loved watching that growth happen before my very eyes.

        As above, I will probably read the whole series in the future, just not too soon.

      • I believe that you, sir, have read many more books than I. It seems that most of the books you mention I have never heard of, much less read, which means that I end up feeling terribly overwhelmed by the sheer number of books that are in this world.

        (Don’t worry: I’ll put McKillip on the List.)

        Let me know if and when you do read HP. Oooh! We should all read them together. Have an online book club. We can nerd out over it all together. Oh, how fun that would be. πŸ˜‰

      • @ David: You know me and my massive blocks of text. ;P

        @ Emily: And you too can produce massive blocks of comment text! Yayness! *high five!*

        I think the main reason I did not like the Chamber of Secrets is because Rowling disappointing me with her characterization. Book 1 made me fond of most of the characters, and I looked forward to seeing them grow in the next book. Instead, I felt that they became static, and while the plot of #2 was interesting, the characters frustrated me. I am not sure which books would be my favorites. I would have to read them again to decide.

        Your issues with Goblet of Fire sound like they come down to a lack of trust in Rowling. Is this so? You were afraid where she would go from there? If so, that’s a good way of expressing what I felt as well. I did not trust her not to create something that would make me sick at heart if not sick to my stomach. Because of this, re-reading the series is a completely different experience from my first read-through. Now I can enjoy the journey and the nuances because I am not constantly worrying about where they might lead.

        Aye, Rowling’s personal touch adds more credibility to her work. “Write what you know” applies as much to sci-fi/fantasy worlds as to any other. πŸ™‚

        I expect that HP will have a more lasting existence than Twilight, which will be replaced, again and again, but the next faddish drivel. That’s just what my librarian instincts tell me. πŸ˜‰ Stuff like Twilight is inevitable, and as a teacher-friend of mine says, Twilight can be used as a kind of gateway drug to get kids reading, and from there they can be steered towards actual literature (I don’t know if I wholly agree with that, but I hope it is true!)

        I should watch the films again. I remember being frustrated by the middle ones as I felt that, for people who had not read the books, they didn’t make a lot of sense! All the shiny bits and none of the characterization!

        πŸ˜€

      • Hah! No worries, I despise it as well. The few sentences I have been induced to read were like witnessing literary murder. Unfortunately, as the market for trash exists, the creation of trash is inevitable so if you went back in time and stopped the creation of one particular monstrosity you would only return to the present to find it replaced by another. That’s the tragedy of it all.
        The comment about my teacher friend’s perspective on the book is an interesting one to me, though I admit that it does not excuse the existence or monetary success of Twilight.

      • Sadly, I have read all 4 books, and I have seen 3 of the 5 movies. And I’ve read The Host.

        It is interesting. I was a teacher, and that was why I read the books – my students pestered me into giving them a chance, and it did provide me with a way to connect with them. However, I think – and I’m speaking very broadly here – that the kids who already liked to read were encouraged to read better books, and the kids who didn’t like to read were more concerned about the movies and the merchandise than actually reading anything else. So, in my experience, I would have to disagree with that perspective. (I actually had a student tell me she has enjoyed reading Twilight and that they are her favorite books, but she has no interest in reading anything else, thank you very much.)

      • You have both my sympathy and respect. I have not been able to make it through more than a paragraph at a time. Then again, I hadn’t the motivation of being a teacher. I wouldn’t know the plot of the books if I hadn’t had the story told to me by a disillusioned fan. On the whole, that wasn’t a bad way to get the gist.

        Sad news. Learning that the black and white symbols held stories that I liked was what turned me into a reader, but then my mother chose my early reading wisely.

      • Haha, an online book club would indeed be a fun idea. I’ve never really been part of a book club, so I don’t know how those work, but they sound fun. Read and discuss. I’d be willing to do it with Harry Potter, when I get to it.

        Or we could do it with The Hobbit, in preparation for the movie in December. I’m planning to reread it before then, anyway. It’s truly been ages since I read it — it’ll almost be like experiencing it for the first time, for me! Maybe we could get some of our other blogger-friends to participate, too. How would we organize it, though? We all take a month or two to read it and post our thoughts as we read? Do we come up with writing prompts based on the book first? Is there a format people use for this sort of thing?

      • I’ve never been a part of a book club, either, so I don’t really know the answers to those questions. I guess we could just come up with it ourselves.

        I’ve been wanting to reread The Hobbit, too, so I’m definitely in. (Looks like Jubilare is, too.)

        We could do a meme, I suppose. Or, we could assign chapters to each other, like we all read chapter one, but you write about it, and then Jubilare takes chapter, 2, and I write about chapter 3, etc… Actually, that sounds too complicated.

        Honestly, the only thing I know about books clubs is what I saw in the movie The Jane Austen Book Club.

      • You know what? Let’s do it. Not immediately — I’m too busy at the moment. But we could plan it for a month or so in the fall. That would give us some time to figure out how to organize it, and also to post about it beforehand to see if any other bloggers want to join us.

      • I. Am. Stoked.

        I have no idea how to begin with this. I’m sure there are tips on Google. Any suggestions? And where should we discuss it? Don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind have tons and ton of comments on this post, but I now have 34 comments plus this one. πŸ™‚ It’s probably distracting.

      • Would you like me to make a fresh post on my site that proposes the idea and solicits suggestions about how to go about it?

        I like the idea of each of us being assigned different chapters — at least it separates the load, so we aren’t all expected to blog about everything! Perhaps we could expect everyone to do one post a week. That would mean we’re reading 3-4 chapters per week, which I think is easy for us (though maybe I’m wildly underestimating you. I’m going by my typical schedule of reading mostly at my lunch breaks at work. I could easily increase that reading rate, though.).

        Unless more people want to join. In which case we might want something else. We don’t have to cover every aspect of the book. I think our goal should just be something that keeps us all reading more or less at the same rate, and that lets us easily discuss the parts about it that were the most interesting to us.

      • That would be great!

        I also like the idea about being assigned different chapters. It would definitely make things easier. I think it would also be good if whomever is posting included a series of questions to get a discussion going in the comments. Just like three or so. What do you think?

        Oh, my friend, I am a FAST reader. I should be in the Olympics. When I read The Return of the King in high school, it took me a weekend. When I read Catching Fire earlier this year, it took me six hours, and that included eating dinner and watching the Republicans debate.

        I think I can handle it. πŸ˜‰

      • …Let’s take a little longer than a weekend, ‘kay? That’ll help a slowpoke like me. +) Although I can be quite fast when I set aside the time, I usually like to savor the experience of a particularly good book.

        We could definitely ask what other people think about specific parts of the chapter we’re posting on. That’s a good idea.

        Should we aim to have a new post (between all the participants) every day? That’s probably manageable. I mean, I know you could probably read the whole thing in a weekend, but I don’t want anyone else to get bogged down. But I think as a group we could manage a chapter a day pretty easily. The main problem then becomes gathering a list of all the participants before it begins and assigning chapters.

        Also, as with the Book Memes, I will create a separate Page on my blog for the read-along with links to every participant’s main website, and to every post in the project. You’ll all be welcome to do the same or similar, to facilitate keeping track of everything.

      • While I am supernaturally fast at reading, I don’t know if having the participants posting every day would work. I mean, we should factor in the possibility for personal crises, procrastination, work loads, holidays, alien invasions, and the rapture.

        But we could assign two chapters a week and just rotate through a schedule. Oh, oh, oh! Or we could assign one chapter a week, and let’s say one person covers the chapter, but maybe another person writes about a character from the chapter. Then the next week there’s a new chapter and a new post, but a second blogger writes about the setting. Or a theme. Or Tolkien himself.

        So we’d have each chapter covered, but there would also be the option of discussing one aspect of the chapter and novel. So like,

        Week One
        David – Chapter One Review
        Emily – Reflection on Bilbo Baggins

        Week Two
        Emily – Chapter Two Review
        Jubilare – Reflection on the Shire

        Week Three
        Jubilare – Chapter Three Review
        David – Reflection on Adventure

        (Does this make sense? I drank a Mountain Dew a few hours ago, and I think I’m finally crashing, so my thoughts are a little jumbled.)

        For contributers, we could make a general announcement to our readers and the internet and see who wants to join, make a schedule, and begin, and then maybe halfway through ask if there is anyone else who would like to join.

        Or we could make it a little exclusive and keep it to a certain number of bloggers that we could be sure would contribute, but make sure to create discussion questions and encourage other bloggers to post their own takes on the internet. Do you ever read the blog The Broke and the Bookish? Their writers all contribute to their meme Top Ten Tuesday, but then they allow other bloggers to respond and to write their own posts, as well as link back to the website. Maybe we could do something like that? Keep the discussion within a small group, but try and maintain a conversation with a larger audience.

        Okay, I’m going to shut up now and try to sleep.

  3. A cooperative reading of The Hobbit sounds fantastic! Unfortunately, I am taking a break from my blog and the Internets for a while. Start without me, if you like, and I’ll catch up! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

