Look at What I Have Created!


I did something spectacular on Monday: I built a desk.

Last week, I went to IKEA with my mother and extremely pregnant sister. In addition to buying more toys and items for my soon-to-be-born niece, I was there to buy a desk for myself.

A writer needs a desk, no?

While my sister relaxed in one of IKEA’s living rooms and watched Singing in the Rain, my mother and I managed to find a desk that would suit my needs and my bank account. Somehow we lugged the box into my sister’s car, where it was left for the next few days until I decided that I couldn’t wait any longer for it.

So Monday morning, after waking up at the God-forsaken hour of 6 a.m. on my day off, (yes, day off, you read that right—I got a job! Hooray!), I sat on the floor of my bedroom and tried to make sense of the boards and screws I possessed.

It took me three hours and a lot of Frank Sinatra, but I managed to put it all together without anyone else’s help. And not a screw was leftover.

I’ve laid flooring, ripped off wallpaper, wired for electricity, stuffed a room with insulation, and even tore down a wall with a sledgehammer, but I’ve never built something completely on my own without anyone’s help or reassuring presence close by. I am very proud of myself.

In fact, realizing that this was an important occasion, I made sure to document it:

The purchase

The first screw

 First blood

(Third finger—you can barely see it)

 Taking shape

 Completed project

In its rightful place

So there you have it, my desk. It looks neat now, but I’m sure I’ll soon fix that.

6 thoughts on “Look at What I Have Created!

  1. You didn’t build that! You didn’t build the roads you used to get there, etc……..(just kidding.) The desk looks like the lower part of the computer desk we used to own. We are proud of the can-do foundation that we helped give you from the various tasks we gave during your summers off, while renovating this house. We knew from the effort you put forth and the results, that you would be a success in whatever you tackled. So proud of you.

  2. Emily – Good job! Lucky for me that here in the UAE Ikea will assemble for you if you buy over a certain amount – which isn’t much. The desk really comes to life after you put your personal touches on it – the cute lamp, starfish shadow box (which I want), computer and books. 🙂 Cute!

    • Thank you, Julie! The shadow box was a present from my best friend Laura. Apparently there is a company in Iowa that specializes in art made from concrete. You can’t be a true Iowan if you don’t have sculpted concrete somewhere in your house. Or at least, this is what I’ve come to understand. Thus, Laura gave me my own Iowan concrete. 🙂

Leave a Reply

