You and Me Could Write a Bad Romance


And now, the continuation of yesterday’s Top Ten Tuesday Post:

Ten Literary Romances That Would Crash & Burn In The Real World

Enjoy while I duck all the rotten tomatoes.

Romeo & Juliet, The Tragedy of Romeo & Juliet by William Shakespeare

No. Just no. They didn’t even know each other! If they stuck it out, it would only be because Juliet would be too proud to go back to her parents.

Cinderella & Prince Charming, Cinderella

Again, they didn’t even know each other! So stupid.

Katniss Everdeen & Peeta Mellark, The Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins

Sigh.

Okay, maybe if Katniss got to know Peeta, she’d still fall in love with him. He’s a pretty awesome guy. I think, however, that Gale was right when he told Peeta that Katniss would be with whomever she needs the most.

There really isn’t a reason to need Peeta in the real world.

Jane Eyre & Rochester, Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

These two are mostly on this list because I hate Jane Eyre, but really, take away the melodrama and put these two in the real world, and I don’t think they’d ever find each other.

Harry Potter & Ginny Weasely, the Harry Potter series by JK Rowling

I always felt this relationship was forced to begin with.

Buttercup & Westley, The Princess Bride by William Goldman

Don’t hate me.

Bridget Jones & Mark Darcy, Bridget Jones’ Diary by Helen Fielding

No, no, no.

Ian & Wanderer, The Host by Stephenie Meyer

First of all, he’s a human, she’s an alien. Second, I was appalled by how women are treated in this novel. Stephenie Meyer seems determined to glorify abusive men. Ian’s not as bad as some, but I still think he’s too possessive and Wanderer too passive. (Wanderer is a complete contradiction. Horribly written character.) The relationship would “work” in the sense that they’d never leave each other, but it wouldn’t be healthy at all.

Dash & Lily, Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

No. They could barely last in the book.

Amy & Roger, Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

I think eventually Amy and Roger would drift apart. They might try to hold on because of how much Amy needed Roger when their relationship started, but I think there is a possibility that they would outgrow each other.

All right, your turn.

One thought on “You and Me Could Write a Bad Romance

  1. With R & J, I agree, but I have to wonder if they could or would fail more than they do in their original iteration. 😉

    Also, I can’t think of Westley and Buttercup in any other context than their book/film, so my brain just shuts down on this one. It’s like trying to imagine Inigo and Fezzik running a bowling alley. …though that might be pretty awesome, if I could imagine it…

    On all the ones I am familiar with, I whole-heartedly agree.

Leave a Reply

