Did You Know There Was A Fantasy Read-A-Thon?!?!?!


Well, now you do.

Photobucket

During my lunch break today, I was perusing blogs thanks to my WordPress app (hooray for smart phones!), and I read a post by Briana at Pages Undone about the Fantasy Read-A-Thon hosted by Debz Bookshelf. From October 17 (today!) to October 22 (Monday!), readers are encouraged to devote themselves to the fantasy genre.

Yes, please.

And I know just the book I want to tackle:

The Once and Future King by T.H. White

I bought this book at the beginning of September, and I was really excited to read it. First of all, it’s King Arthur, and as much as I love King Arthur, most of my knowledge comes from movies, common knowledge, and the historically accurate BBC show Merlin. I haven’t really read much about Arthur. I’d like to read Le Morte d’Arthur, but I’m intimidated by it.

Merlin: This show is so bad, it’s good.

So when I found this book—one that I thought sounded familiar but couldn’t place—I decided this would be a good start to tackling the Arthurian legend and its subsequent adaptations and interpretations.

Then I cracked it open and read the first chapter. Yeah, I think I’ve seen this movie before.

See, it turns out that The Once and Future King is actually made up of four books:

  • The Sword in the Stone,
  • The Queen of Air and Darkness,
  • The Ill-Made Knight, and
  • The Candle in the Wind.

(“And it seems to me that you lived your life / like a candle in the wind…”

Oh. Sorry. I listen to a lot of office-friendly radio at work.)

Disney decided it wanted to tell a story King Arthur, so The Sword in the Stone was adapted and released in 1963. And yes, it is (as far as I can tell now on the eighth chapter) pretty true to its source material.

Which makes it hard for me to want to read it because I’ve already seen it.

That’s where this Read-A-Thon comes in. I’m going to devote the next five days to conquering this beast.

I’d add more books to read, but I also

  • have to work,
  • go to a wedding-thing,
  • go to church,
  • cuddle my baby niece, and at some point
  • buy groceries.

But I am going to start reading tonight!

Right after Chicago Fire. Because I have priorities.

(C’mon guys, it’s a show about firemen. Firemen!)

Oh yeah. I don’t own any of these pictures.
4 thoughts on “Did You Know There Was A Fantasy Read-A-Thon?!?!?!

  1. BBC Merlin is about as accurate as Robin hood was. I think its the pattern of the age, they take a classic which has potential to be a “name draw” and then write any old show that can loosely fit into it. Having said that I put Robin Hood in the “So bad its good” category. I dislike Merlin even more since Doctor Who was taken off mid season so that Merlins ratings would look better.

    On the subject of adaptions, why is it that screen writers feel that they have to mess around with time and tested classics? I understand there are situations where things need to be cut out due time contraints of a show/movie but things like Merlin and the recent Narnia movies (Dawn Treadar in particular). Perhaps we are now point towards a screen/book audience split where we get two differing stories with the same name :-/

    I note on Amazon there is “The Once and Future King” which contains all five books about the early life of King Arthur (The Sword in the Stone , The Witch in the Wood , The Ill-Made Knight, The Candle in the Wind and The Book of Merlyn). I’m guessing some of the titles may have different names in America. Kind of like the Philosophers Stone becoming Sorcerer’s Stone.

    • Confession: I loved Robin Hood. 😉 I can understand your dislike for Merlin. I haven’t kept up with Merlin, but what I’ve seen I’ve enjoyed.

      On adaptions: the only answer I can give you is that classics are probably safer bets. It’s all about the money, and I would think that audiences would be more interested in seeing something they know than a story they don’t. Which is dumb.

      We do not speak of the Dawn Treader film, Tim.

      Why do American editions change titles? It doesn’t make sense to me.

  2. It’s been a long time since I read The Once and Future King, but I do remember that it’s one of those books that has layers. LOTS of layers. I should read it again. Most of what I remember is the progression of the understanding of morality. There’s a reason so many Arthurian interpretations are drawn from it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

