The Second Novel: Level Up


image

Bear with me, folks. I’m attempting to type this post on my Android. Please forgive me for my typos.

Today, I achieved something: I completed the first draft of my second manuscript.

The one I started in the spring. Yeah, that one. Took me long enough, I know.

I am burned out on it, too. In fact, the last 3 pages are just dialogue. Bad punctuation. A severe lack of proper capitalization.

I’m trying not to let that bother me.
But I’ve finished. Now it’s time to edit, to rewrite, to delete, and to add.

I’m proud of myself, but I’m also a little sad: how does one celebrate the completion of a rough draft?

I sat at my desk, twiddled my thumbs, then got up and made brownies.

image

Happy completed rough draft to me!

Honestly, though, all I want to do now is ignore it.

And maybe go back to working on my previous manuscript – the one that turned 1 year old this past November.

10 thoughts on “The Second Novel: Level Up

    • When it makes sense! At the moment I have three characters whose names at the end of the story are very different from their names at the beginning. 🙂 Thank you, Mom. I love you, too!

      • Still makes me rant, main characters tied up in ONE line, “Oh he’s living in District… now” or then this main character was killed by the mutts…

        It wound me up almost as much as a Narnia film that we do not speak of.

        Well I could spend another 3 hours ranting, or I could say WELL DONE, that’s awesome that you finished your draft, wow too books from you. I’m still on two half chapters :-/

Leave a Reply

