Top Ten Tuesday: Goals for 2013


The Fight

Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Bookish Goals for 2013

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and Bookish

01. Maintain his blog

Seriously. With posts that are actually worth reading and not just rehashing of the same thoughts and topics. Or just Top Ten Tuesday posts.

02. Write on schedule

I want to write like it’s my job. I want a schedule and goals to reach each week. I want to find more freelance work, and I want to continue working on my stories.

My college friend Tim has posted several instagram photos depicting his own writing efforts in 2013. I admire his dedication. I miss having that resolve. Tim, if you read this, keep it up! You’re my hero!

03. Write more in public

I write the best and the most when I force myself to leave the privacy of my home and find a spot in a café. I write better when I am surrounded by people, whereas in my home I might write, but I’ll also clean, eat, sleep, read, sing, dance, snack, paint my nails—I get distracted, and something that might take me an hour or two to write at Starbucks will take me six hours to do at home.

The problem with writing in public means I have to get up, get dressed, and be around people. Ugh. People.

 04. Actually have someone read one of my manuscripts from start to finish, not just little pieces.

Of course, this means that I have to actually have something worth reading, and as of right now, my first manuscript is in a box in my closet, and my second one is undergoing thorough revisions in my mind. (Seriously, I might have just completely changed the entire direction of the story.)

05. Start pestering publishers and agents.

Once Goals 2, 3, and 4 have been achieved, of course.

06. Join a writing community in my town.

I’m very fortunate in that I am constantly meeting writers. I didn’t realize just how many of us are out there. Here’s hoping that I don’t get sucked into my own self in 2013, and that I actually go out and spend time with the wonderful people who have reached out to me.

07. Manage my portfolio

Make copies: hard copies, digital copies—store copies in the cloud. Whatever. Just to do something that keeps me organized. And professional.

08. Publish. Something.

09. Go to another writer’s conference.

10. Actually read one of those dang books on writing that I bought a year ago. I drag them around with me everywhere I go, and yet I’ve yet to actually read them.

Anybody out there who can sympathize? Empathize? And more importantly, keep me accountable?

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Goals for 2013

  1. Certainly I empathize, particularly with 1-3. Yesterday I had to go to the library for a few hours just to make any progress on my Hobbit review — too many distractions around the house!

Leave a Reply

