Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Settings I’d Like To See More Of


Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Settings I’d Like To See More Of

I, of course, had to make today’s TTT prompt difficult for myself. Are those 10 settings that I personally want to read more about? Or 10 settings that I think should be featured in more books? And why can I only think of settings that I am bored with? And for goodness sakes, why did that prompt have to end in a preposition? Now I keep doing it, too.

Thus, I have compiled a list of 10 settings (give or take) that I either would like to see featured in more books, or settings that I think are tired out and boring, and writers need to stop using them.

More of Hogwarts

Hogwarts

Because the adventures of Marauders needs to be told.

More of Central Asia

I miss those mountains.

I miss those mountains.

Specifically Kazakhstan. It’s such a wild and beautiful country that no one knows about. With the level of diversity in the population, as well as the history, there are thousands of stories to be told.

Just not by Sacha Baron Cohen.

More of Rural Russia

Russian Village

The Tsars are fascinating. As are the Soviet Party leaders. I’m more interested in the ordinary people – the serfs, the peasants, the commune workers – the people who can survive such radical changes in history with the same determination and durability as they face winter every year.

Less of New York City

We’re done. All right? Done. New York is a wonderful city, and I love it, but I think our continual worship of it in stories polarizes the view the world has of America.

How Europe Sees America

More of Rural Virginia

Good ol' Virginie

Good ol’ Virginie

Because I’m a Romantic, and because no matter where I go, or how long I stay away, I’m convinced Virginia is the most beautiful state in the USA.

More of Biblical Times & Places

Like Canaan.

And Moab.

And Babylon.

The Hanging Gardens of Babylon

And I don’t mean I want to read just Christian Fiction. I would love to read a story from the perspective of the Canaanites or the Babylonians. The Red Tent was interesting because it took a story from Genesis and well-known religious figures and revealed them through a perspective that was not heavily Jewish or Christian. I didn’t always like it, but I still found myself captivated by it.

Less of the World Wars

And more of the Gulf War, which is hazy memory of my parents watching the news and crying, and how I asked my mother if I should pray for Saddam Hussein because he didn’t seem to be a very happy man and maybe someone just needed to tell him that Jesus loves him.

I was 5. Life and Truth are simple when you’re 5.

What settings would you like to see more? Are there any that you hope to never read again?

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Settings I’d Like To See More Of

Leave a Reply

