The Story Is Growing


“Do you know many stories?”The Name of the Wind

He smiled, and the network of lines that crossed his face turned to make themselves part of that smile. “I only know one story. But oftentimes small pieces seem to be stories themselves.” He took a drink. “It’s growing all around us. In the manor houses of the Cealdim and in the workshops of the Cealdar, over the Stormwal in the great sand sea. In the low stone houses of the Adem, full of silent conversation. And sometimes,” He smiled. “Sometimes the story is growing in squalid backstreet bars, Dockside in Tarbean.” His bright eyes looked deep into me, as if I were a book that he could read.

There’s no good story that doesn’t touch the truth,” I said, repeating something my father used to say, mostly to fill the silence. It felt strange talking to someone again, strange but good. “There’s as much truth here as anywhere, I suppose. It’s too bad, the world could do with a little less truth and a little more…” I trailed off, not knowing what I wanted more of…

“Is it true? The story.” I made an inarticulate gesture. “The part you told today?”

All stories are true,” Skarpi said. “But this one really happened, if that’s what you mean.”

Chapter 27 “Lanre Turned”

The Name of the Wind

Patrick Rothfuss

Leave a Reply

