Follow


f5bbd2d920afdd5e1aa7cf230e13efab

The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian (2008),

Lucy woke out of the deepest sleep you can imagine, with the feeling that the voice she liked best in the world had been calling her name. She thought at first it was her father’s voice, but that did not seem quite right. Then she thought it was Peter’s voice, but that did not seem to fit either…

“Lucy,” came the call again, neither her father’s voice nor Peter’s. She sat up, trembling with excitement but not with fear…

She got up, her heart beating wildly…

And then–oh joy! For he was there: the huge Lion, shining white in the moonlight, with his huge black shadow underneath him.

But for the movement of his tail he might have been a stone lion, but Lucy never thought of that. She never stopped to think whether he was a friendly lion or not. She rushed to him. She felt her heart would burst if she lost a moment. And the next thing she knew was that she was kissing him and putting her arms as far around his neck as she could and burying her face in the beautiful rich silkiness of his mane.

“Aslan, Aslan. Dear Aslan,” sobbed Lucy. “At last…”

“Welcome, child,” he said.

“Aslan,” said Lucy, “you’re bigger.”

“That is because you are older, little one,” answered he.

“Not because you are?”

“I am not. But every year you grow, you will find me bigger.”

For a time she was so happy that she did not want to speak. But Aslan spoke.

“Lucy,” he said… “You have work in hand, and much time has been lost today…

[G]o back to the others now, and wake them up; and tell them you have seen me again; and that you must all get up at once and follow me…”

“Do you mean that is what you want me to do?” gasped Lucy.

“Yes, little one,” said Aslan…

Lucy buried her head in his mane to hide from his face. But there must have been magic in is mane. She could feel lion-strength going into her. Quite suddenly she sat up. “I’m sorry, Aslan,” she said. “I’m ready now.”

“Now you are a lioness,” said Aslan. “And now all Narnia will be renewed.”

The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian

Chapter Ten “The Return of the Lion”

C.S. Lewis

I first read this book when I was in third grade. Lewis’ stories have stayed with me throughout my life. Yet lately I have found that God and I have been having true conversations not unlike the fictional ones between Aslan and Lucy.

Like I said before, I believe God has been calling me for a very long time.

2 thoughts on “Follow

  1. Pingback: Heirlooms & Seals | WanderLust

Leave a Reply

