Look! A Book!


The week before my wedding, a friend reached out to me and asked if I wanted a job. Her mom had written a book, and she was looking for someone who could edit it for her.

I loved my wedding. It was perfect. But at that moment I was just so tired of planning it. I was extremely stressed – so much so that it was affecting my health – and as I was no longer working, everything in my life was about the wedding. And moving.

I needed something to refresh me. So I took the job.

I know, I know. I sound like I’m nuts. But I was confident that I could do it.

I blocked off two days and got to work. No wedding stuff, just editing and proofreading.

And it was wonderful.

I really love editing. I think it’s so much fun! And I am so weird for saying that! But I really do, and I felt more like myself and so happy those two days that when it was over, I did feel refreshed and ready to get back to the wedding planning.

Yesterday a small package was dropped off.

8 Weeks of Love: A Bible Study for Single Mothers by Lois Breit

8 Weeks of Love: A Bible Study for Single Mothers by Lois Breit

8-weeks-of-love-bible-study-single-mothers-lois-breit

And there it was, in print – my name as an editor!

I was so happy I started crying. My poor husband just held me as I cried and laughed on his shoulder.

There’s a book in this world – an actual physical book with an ISBN and everything! – and my name is in it.

I am very thankful and very happy.

So a big thank you to my dear friend who thought of me, and thank you to her dear mother, Lois Breit, for giving me a chance.

And thank you to my husband who didn’t freak out when I said I was going to edit a book so close to our wedding, and who couldn’t stop smiling as I rejoiced last night over such a small yet such a wonderful moment in my life.


To learn more about Lois Breit’s ministry to single mothers, please visit LoisBreit.com.

To purchase 8 Weeks of Love, click here.

Leave a Reply

